# **Biomedical and Clinical Engineers Association of Ireland - BEAI**

# **Annual General Meeting**

Date: Friday the 16th of July 2021

Location: HSE Offices Millenium Business Park, Naas, Co. Kildare

Present: John Adlington

Brian Kearney Eoghan Hayden Rob Vavasour Frank Kelly Brian Farrell

Present via Zoom: Peter Grainger

Oleg Sholik

Seamus McGerrall Leighton Curry Karl Goulding Meabh Smith Bernard Murphy Michelle Roe

Gagan

Fathima Rinza

Gagan Pratap Singh

Robert Kinsella

### Report from outgoing Chairman:

In his report, outgoing Chairperson Brian Kearney thanked all members and sub groups for their commitment to making the BEAI the voice and thought leader of Medical Technology p professionals in Ireland.

Brian acknowledged and thanked Karl Goulding from Oxygen Care and Robert Kinesella from Tallaght University Hospital who both resigned from their positions on the Executive Committee.

Regarding events and education, Brian outlined how Covid-19 has curtailed plans to hold in person events but the association has continued to offer virtual events for both education and the Annual Scientific Conference.

The ongoing success of the Spectrum Journal and the input and commitment of Frank Kelly was acknowledged with a call for articles from all members of the association.

Increased Membership, a revamped website and professional development through a draft scheme for the certification of Engineers where all acknowledged.

Brian advised that he has recently been appointed as a collaborator member of the Clinical Engineering Division (CED) of the IFMBE and he will continue to represent the BEAI collaborating with various international bodies.

In reflection on the past 5 years the BEAI has succeeded in serving and advancing the interests of its members with significant growth in how the organisation works with, for and on behalf of the profession of Clinical Engineering. The next step will be to develop a new 5 year plan to shape the direction of association and continue to grow and develop.

Having led the BEAI since 2016, Brian stepped down from the position and he thanked everyone for their support during the period.

### Minutes from the 2020 AGM

The minutes from the 2020 AGM were submitted by Brian Farrell, Secretary.

Eoghan Hayden proposed that they were accepted and Frank Kelly Seconded.

#### **Financial Report**

The Financial Report was presented by John Adlington Treasurer, John acknowledged the assistance of oleg Shorlik through the year.

Leighton Curry proposed that the report was accepted and Frank Kelly Seconded.

#### **Education Report**

Rob Vavasour delivered a report on the Education events that were carried out during the year.

#### Fix the remuneration of the the Auditors:

The proposal was forwarded by Brian Farrell and seconded by Frank Kelly

### **Resignation of Directors:**

The following Directors resigned:

John Adlington (as longest serving but standing for re-election) Robert Kinsella Karl Goulding

#### **Election of Officers and Committee Members:**

The following positions were elected for the coming year:

Chairperson Eoghan Hayden The National Maternity Hospital Secretary Brian Farrell Veolia Water Technologies Vice Secretary Kieran Healy Irish Hospital Supplies

Treasurer John Adlington Midlands Regional Hospital, Tullamore

Vice Treasurer Oleg Shrolik The Mater Hospital Membership Officer Seamus McGarrell St. James's Hospital

Communication Officer Maighread Gallagher The National Maternity Hospital

Education Officer Rob Vavasour Wassenburg Medical Spectrum Lead Frank Kelly BEAI Executive Member

Professional Development Brian Kearney Programme Management Office IT Officer Leighton Curry Tallaght University Hospital

Executive Committee:

John McGivney St. Luke's Hospital Radiation Oncology Network

Bernard Murphy Cork University Hospital
Peter Grainger Naas General Hospital
Meabh Smith Beaumont Hospital

Eoghan Hayden as the new Chairman of the BEAI thanked Brian Kearney for his contribution and his leadership and drive. He welcomed that Brian will remain involved and wished the new committee well in the future.